New Blog!

Hello everyone!

As some may recall I have started covering my head back in March 2015 and since then I’ve been involved in headcovering groups and the concept of modest dress as a whole. It’s been a rather transformative experience and I’m glad that I started doing it.

However, being from the USA most headcovering and modest dress forums and blogs are Abrahamic in nature (Jewish, Christian, and Muslim). Naturally their reasons for modest dress and covering are rooted in their religious beliefs, beliefs that I and most pagans do not share. On top of that, I’m not even a “typical pagan”, so the rare pagan resources for headcovering do not resonate with me either.

In response I decided to start my own blog to share my experiences as a headcovering pagan, at a new blog called The Mantled Fox. I would really appreciate if my viewers here would have a look and tell me if the general theme and layout is legible and relatively easy on the eyes, and if the site actually works for you in the first place (i.e. comments can be left for instance).

I debated whether or not to have headcovering be separate from this blog or to be one category among others, as I’m not entirely sure what direction I’m going to go with the headcovering blog. Unlike the Abrahamic traditions there’s not a whole lot of philosophy or religious debate to headcovering and modesty in pagan religions, as there’s no broadly fundamental texts or old, continuing tradition to make interpretations from. Instead (speaking from an European-centered viewpoint) what we have are historical examples of pagan headcovers, and the creation of new traditions that may or may not be in line with the older forms, separated by thousands of years of Abrahamic religions overlaying the cultures and giving context to clothing styles. Some styles may resemble those found in ancient pagan cultures, but the reasons for the styles can be different. Besides, all of the pagan headcoverers I’ve seen do not follow any pagan European style of headcovering for daily wear, they follow contemporary Jewish or Muslim traditions due to the materials and resources that are available (as do I).

As a result I decided that a headcovering blog would not quite fit the theme of “Along the River”, as it would likely be rooted in opinion and personal experiences rather than historical and cultural religious exploration. Some overlap will occur, but I don’t think enough of an overlap will exist to justify a combination. Hence, the Mantled Fox was born.

(Now whether I actually keep the site active will remain to be seen lol)

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Other

4 responses to “New Blog!

  1. Looks good, I like the photograph at the top!

    I find dark text on light backgrounds to be easier to read than light text on dark backgrounds, but the gray is better than black as a background, so it’s probably fine.

    • I love that photo too, it’s this peacock-colored scarf I bought that was absolutely gorgeous. I was debating about the text a lot and couldn’t tell on my own which one read better (and there is a light-bg option available so it can easily be changed if need be).

  2. Esther

    The site looks fine to me too. I’m glad you chose to separate the topics. For me modest dress and head covering is too closely tied to female oppression however I am looking forward to reading your perspective from a non abrahamic viewpoint.

    • Thank you. I had that association as well for a long time but then I realized that most of the modest styles had very practical reasons for their existence, and that I already was adhering to many clothes that would be considered modest by usual standards for comfort reasons. So I broke away from the dominance association and began to see things in a new light.

Leave a Reply

